‘Village Rockstars’ Rocks: The Best Feature Film 2018

‘Village Rockstars’ Rocks: The Best Feature Film 2018

Once again Assamese Cinema charms Assam nationally. Rima Das’s directional ‘Village Rockstars’ has won the Best Feature Film Award 2018 at 65th National Film AwardsThe best child artist award has gone to Bhanita Das for her role in the movie ‘Village Rockstars’. After 29 years, an Assamese movie has achieved the honor. Jahnu Barua’s Assamese movie “Halodhia Choraye Baodhan Khai” had won the award last in 1987.

Moreover, ‘Ishu’ another Assamese feature film by filmmaker Utpal Borpujari, won the award for the Best Assamese Film 2018 at 65th National Film Awards.

About Village Rockstars

‘Village Rockstars’ is based on such an inspirational story of a young girl who belongs to a poor family. The girl lives with her widow mother and elder brother in a village of Assam. The girl names Dhunu is dreaming of owning an Electric Guitar and forming a rock band while her mother struggles to just survive. She does not let come any issues like poverty, society’s strict rules regarding women etc. as a hindrance in making her dream into reality.

Production company: Flying River Films
Cast: Bhanita Das, Basanti Das, Kulada Bhattacharya, Boloram Das, Rinku Das, Bishnu Kalita, Manabendra Das, Bhaskar Das, Padma Sharma, Subhash Das
Director-screenwriter-editor-director of photography-production designer-costume designer-casting: Rima Das
Producers: Rima Das, Jaya Das
Music: Nilotpal Borah

In addition to the film, here is the list of National Film Award winners 2018

*Best Male Playback Singer: K.J Yesudas (Viswasapoorvam Mansoor)

*Best Feature Film: Village Rockstars

*Best Actor: Ridhi Sen (Nagarkirtan)

*Best Actress: Sridevi (MOM)

*Best Director: Jayaraj (Bhayanakam)

*Best Debut Director: Pampally (Sinjar)

*Best Playback Singer(Female): Sasha Trupati (Vaan)

*Best Playback Singer (Male): Yesudas

*Best Child Artist: Bhanita Das (Village Rockstars)

*Best Supporting Actor: Fahad Fazil (Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum)

*Best Supporting Actress: Divya Dutta (Irada)

*Best Original Screenplay: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

*Best Adapted Screenplay: Bhayanakam

*Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam

*Best Makeup Artist: Nagarkirtan, Ram Rajak

*Best Costume: Nagarkirtan, Govinda Mandal

*Best Production Design: Take Off, Santhosh Raman

*Best Editing: Village Rockstar, Rima Das

*Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind, Sanath George and Justin Jose

*Best Audiography: Village Rockstar, Mallika Das

*Best Background Score: AR Rahman, MOMBest Lyrics: Muthuratna, March 22

*Best Music Direction and Songs: AR Rahman, Katru Veliyidai

*Best Action Director: Abbas Ali Moghul (Baahubali-The Conclusion)

*Best Choreography: Toilet-Ek Prem Katha (Gori tu lath maar) – Ganesh Acharya

*Best Special Effects: Baahubali: The Conclusion

*Special Mention: Nagarkirtan

#Best Regional Films

*Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi

*Best Assamese Film: Ishu

*Best Tamil Film: To Let

*Best Telugu Film: Ghazi

*Best Gujarati Film: Dhh

*Best Malayalam Film: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

*Best Kannada Film: Hebbettu Ramakka

*Best Hindi Film: Newton

*Best Ladhaki Film: Walking With The Wind

*Best Jasari Film: Sinjar

*Best Tulu Film: Paddayi

*Best Odiya Film: Hello Arsi

*Best Marathi Film: Kachcha Limbu

#Special Mention Awards

*Marathi Film– Morkhya

*Oriya Film- Hello Mirror

*Parvathy, Take Off

*Pankaj Tripathi, Newton

*Best Critic On Cinema Award goes to Giridhar Jha

*Best Short Film Fiction– Maiyat

*Best Film On Family Values– Happy Birthday

*Best Direction- Pravash Ch Nivandan, Nagraj Manule

*Best Cinematography– Eye Test,  Don

*Best Investigative Film– 1984 When The Sun Did Not Rise

*Best Animation Film– Fish Curry, Maachar Jhol

*Special Jury Award: The Old Man, Monday

#Best Adventure Film award goes to Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale. The movie narrates the journey of rickshaw puller who travelled from Kolkata to Ladakh on his rickshaw.

#Non-Feature Films: The award goes to Best Educational Film The Girls We Were and The Women We Are.

  • 33

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *